Artist Lang




It was back in 1998 when Christof Kather and Klaus Nicodem undertook their last attempt to stop writing music and called this „Japanische Kampfhörspiele“.

They produced songs beyond all conventions in german for the following two years as a Duo. Lovely designed CDs in smallest circulations were given to friends and distributed via the WorldWideWeb - free of charge. That way they gained attention, also in non-german-speaking countries across the world. At the beginning of the new millenium the two started to gather more musicians around them and released a self-titled debut album as well as a CD entitled „Die Großstadt stinkt, ist laut und septisch“ that – unintentionally – gained attention of the music industry, not at least because of the unexpectedly high CD- and Merchsales.

When Bastardized Recordings released the EP „Fertigmensch“ in 2003, the line-up had already swollen towards somewhat like live-compatibility. Despite the sometime premiss never to play a show, the now six musicians saw themselves confronted with headliner positions in sold-out clubs all over Germany.

In 2004 the worldwide release of the band’s most successful album until then entitled „Hardcore Aus Der Ersten Welt“ followed as well as numerous shows as headliners as well as support slots for bands such as NASUM or SUFFOCATION.

After a split 7inch with Cologne’s Noise-Prostitutes „Das Krill“ and their following effort that turned the heads of the young and the young at heart: „Deutschland Von Vorne“ - a hommage to german-singing artists of the past 25 years the band promoted this amazing output by headlining that year’s „Fleischmarsch“- Festival Tour in November/December 2005.

Bastardized Recordings rereleased the best of the sold-out classics written between 1998 and 2002, not remixed, not remastered - just the very early JAPANISCHE KAMPFHÖRSPIELE including some unreleased tracks, together more than 30 songs on one CD including all the lyrics and sidenotes within the booklet.

Since the following Austria/Switzerland-Tour guitar-player Robert was replaced by René and the band started working on what was again to become their best-selling album to date: "Rauchen & Yoga" was released in late 2007 and again showed the band's outstanding progression. JaKa came across faster, harder, more progressive, but most importantly catchier then ever before. Carsten Rehmann and Robert Adam turned out to be a great enrichment, when laying down the tracks: The production for sure was the most brutal the band has ever had to offer.

In 2008 JAPANISCHE KAMPFHÖRSPIELE set off to new borders with their first ever U.S.-appearance on Maryland Death Fest as well as a bunch of other shows including a WFMU-Radio Show for Dan Bodah's "Airborn Event" followed by memorable shows at With Full Force, Deathfest and Summerbreeze.

November, 28th now marks the Release-Date for something very, very special for all JAKA fans: "Japanische Kampfspielfilme" features everything you ever wished to (not) see about your favourite band. This is 10 years of JAPANISCHE KAMPFHÖRSPIELE on a three hour DVD. Two years in the making, this will be truly worth the wait - we promise!

Artist Member

Markus Hoff - vocals
Martin Freund - vocals
Klaus Nicodem - guitars
Robert Nowak - guitars
Marco Bachmann - bass
Christof Kather - drums

Artist Latest


Title: Kaputte Nackte Affen
Cat.-No.: BE054
Releasedate: 2011-02-18

1. Die Krone Der Schöpfung
2. Kaputte Nackte Affen
3. Alter Trick
4. Grillanzünder
5. Was Wenn?
6. Cruise Missile
7. Maschinen Sprengen
8. Homeentertainment
9. Mach Dich Fit Für Den Bikini
10. Statuspanik
11. Reset
12. Ich Kriege Ärger
13. Primaten
14. Der Homo Sapiens
15. Bravohotelcrazyhorse
16. Ein Blutiger Vormittag
17. Näschen Aus Papier
18. Wenn Die Menschen Einmal Nicht Mehr Sind
19. Debauchery (Vinyl Bonus Track)

Buy Here